Mixed media, Uncategorized

Beach in a Bottle

And now for something completely different. . .

My friend asked me to make her a beach. She wanted something happy to look at in her office when she had a rough day. It started from a video that popped up on Facebook one day. She tagged me and asked if I could do it. I said yes, of course.

The video showed the beach in an open bowl. After some thought, I told her that a closed container would be better so she wouldn’t have to worry about it getting dusty. We shopped together to pick out the bottle. We found a perfect mason jar type bottle that was the right size.

The water is made from hot glue – lots of hot glue! I just kept putting down globs of it until it resembled something like water. Then came the fun part – painting! We chose shiny, metallic blues for the water to make it really pretty. I added some pearl white to some spots to look like the foam at the beach.

Next, I started arranging things in the bottle to make it look like a secluded cove. After all, who wouldn’t want their own private beach?  I pushed the sand around until I was happy with it, then added some larger rocks, smaller pebbles and bits of assorted moss. I even put some itty bitty shells in from my own collection. What’s a beach without shells?

The final touch was a sign. On one side it says “Private Property” and on the other it says “Meredith’s Beach”.  She was so happy with it! And I really enjoyed making this knowing how happy it made her.

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Beach in a Bottle

Leave a Reply

