Bookbinding

Knowing When to Stop

Sometimes when crafting, one has to know when to stop. I’ve been working on the third notebook in this set for a long time now. I’ve had to cut the thread once already because I made a mistake. I started over and now I’ve made another mistake. So, I’m stopping for the night. Tomorrow will be a new day and I’ll look at this with fresh eyes and get it right.

So, two of the notebooks are completed. The hardest part was putting holes in them with an awl. I only have a small awl so I had to push and twist it by hand in all three books. There were a lot of holes! I now have a blister in my palm.

Picture one shows the three notebooks waiting for holes.

I completed the black and gold notebook and the light multi-colored notebook. You can see the pattern of the binding on the edges. It’s really quite interesting.

And, if you look close enough you can see all my technical errors. But that’s okay. This is my first time trying this project. I’m still proud of what I’ve accomplished. Mistakes are just another way to learn.

Tomorrow I’ll tackle the green and gold notebook. For tonight, I’m done. Good night!

 

Sometimes when crafting, one has to know when to stop. I’ve been working on the third notebook in this set for a long time now. I’ve had to cut the thread once already because I made a mistake. I started over and now I’ve made another mistake. So, I’m stopping for the night. Tomorrow will be a new day and I’ll look at this with fresh eyes and get it right.

So, two of the notebooks are completed. The hardest part was putting holes in them with an awl. I only have a small awl so I had to push and twist it by hand in all three books. There were a lot of holes! I now have a blister in my palm.

Standard

Leave a Reply

