Handmade Cards

Happy Leap Day!

Today was one of those days when you just don’t quite feel like yourself, you know? I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the feeling was there all day long. I’m not sure if it was empathy for my friend who had to send her foster children back to “the system” today or something else altogether. Whatever it was, it stole my crafting mojo.

I started sorting out supplies again and discovered a whole, huge ziploc filled with Christmas papers and stickers and more from Emma Rose. So I thought I’d try making some Christmas cards.

Example number 1, upper left corner. As my friend Mary said, it doesn’t have my usual verve. There isn’t anything technically wrong with this card, but it just isn’t moving me. Which is unfortunate, because I made three of them.

Example number 2, upper right corner. I used a snowflake die with the Christmas papers. This snowflake has three layers and I put them all together with a red brad in the center. Nice and simple. But, still not moving me. I only made one of these.

Number 3, lower left. Now we’re getting somewhere. I’m feeling this card a bit more. I don’t know if it is the combination of colors and random lengths of the tags or what. I got two of these done tonight.

Number 4, lower right. Another simple layout, very similar to the snowflake above. But this time I used two patterns together layered on bright red to contrast with the green card base. Bright red ribbon across the patterns ties it all together. I added the Christmas themed brad and the sweet little bird embellishments. I have to say, these were my favorite today. There are four of these in the set.

What do you guys think? Do you have a favorite out of these?

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Happy Leap Day!

Leave a Reply

