Mixed media, Upcycled

I have been working on a project for my daughter. I wanted something that reminds her she is beautiful whenever she looks at it. This is what I came up with.

I asked her what her favorite colors were. She chose brights – yellow, green and orange. I stamped colored tissue papers with vintage looking stamps, then tore it into smaller pieces.

 

12810174_10209144015017933_1719272848_o

The tissue paper got glued to a recycled art board. I had previously coated the board with gesso and white acrylic paint.

20160310_180136

These butterflies started out as plain wood. I colored them green and then stamped them with white ink and topped that with embossing powder. After heat embossing them, I decided then needed a little bit more so I covered them in Glossy Accents.

20160313_135609

The heart was also plain wood to start. I painted it red and covered it with crinkled tissue paper. I then covered that with some metallic red paint.

20160313_135612

I printed out the letters and then traced the “YOU” onto a printed piece of cardstock that had zentangle drawing printed on it. I cut those out by hand. The “Be” and “Tiful” I traced onto the board with carbon paper, which didn’t work so well. I ended up freehanding them a little bit. I colored them in with a Pitt Big Brush pen in Black. This took two coats.

If you look at the background here and above, you will see some differences. After the glue dried, I applied some dark brown distress ink all over and followed that with some champagne gold metallic paint that I brushed on with my fingers to just highlight some of the areas.

20160313_135616

Here you can see the inked letters. I had my daughter color the “YOU” letters herself so I knew she would like them. She had no idea how they were going to be used.

20160313_143210

Here is the finished product. I used my Brown Pitt Big Brush marker to add some shadowing around the edges of the heart. I also took a small wooden bird and topped him with gold glitter and added him to the center of the heart.  The “YOU” letters were glued on with Mod Podge and then I used FOUR different things around them to make them stand out a little. First, I shadowed them with the Brown marker, wiping with my fingers to blend. Then I shadowed with a dark blue and a lighter blue, wiping again. Finally, I edged each letter in a different color of glitter marker.

20160313_182258

Close up of the beautiful butterflies.

20160313_182233

Close up of the heart. I love the texture you get with the crinkled tissue paper.

20160313_182220

My sparkly little bird.

20160313_182323

Look closely and you can see the blue, pink and green outlines of the letters.

20160313_182313

Another shot of the finished project.  I coated it with some glossy varnish to make it really shine.

20160313_182205

Standard

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

