Uncategorized

20 August 2016

In keeping with my new “craft on weekends” theme, I worked on a canvas this week(end). Okay, yes, you caught me. I had to do bits and pieces all week long otherwise, I couldn’t have finished it over a weekend! Some products just take forever to dry.

The canvas was purchased used and already had paint on it. That meant I had to cover it up. First thing I did was apply molding medium to the center. I wanted it slightly bumpy and textural. This took 24 hours to cure completely.

wp-1471726805051.jpg

Now, don’t think I work in some fancy pants studio or something. Most projects like this are done at my kitchen table. Poor table. It’s a good thing I got a piece of glass to cover the wood – it sure does clean up well. Here’s a picture of how I eat dinner when projects are drying. Homeschool books, leisure reading material, dinner and a project. Doesn’t get any better than this! 🙂

wp-1471726933401.jpg

Next I put two coats of gesso over the molding medium. Another 24 hours drying time. I spend a lot of time waiting for things to dry.

wp-1471726794388.jpg

This morning, I added some gold leaf in random places.

wp-1471726778499.jpg

Then came all the pretty colors. Here are shots of the finished project.

I used about five colors here. Orange, three shades of blue, a pale bright green, yellow. Some of these were also diluted a bit with white or watered down.  I was surprised at how quickly I was done with this (apart from waiting for the paint to dry and adding a coat of varnish, that is. See, more drying time!).

Now I have all day tomorrow to make something else!

(To those who asked for email sign up; I believe I added that option to the blog. Please let me know if you cannot see it or if it isn’t working.)

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “20 August 2016

Leave a Reply

