Uncategorized

A Renewed Jewelry Armoire

A few weeks ago, I picked this jewelry armoire up “free on the curb”. I had NO plans or idea at all of what to do. I got a few grandiose ideas from Pinterest over the weeks, but none of them were quite right.

20160818_085621

Here is the armoire, in the center, in the process of being sanded, along with the dresser (which still sits in my living room!). I somehow did not manage to get a photo of the armoire by itself.

 

One of the drawers was broken but surprisingly the broken corner was in the drawer! I consulted with a woodworking friend of mine (thanks, Paige!) about which glue was best for mdf (because, of course, this armoire wasn’t solid wood!) and I set about repairing it. I think I did pretty good for a first time repair!

The first step after sanding was spray painting – lots of it! I used a couple cans of Kilz primer since the wood was laminate. I wanted to make sure my paint would adhere.

Then I painted it with more spray – a pale cream color. I still had no idea where this project was going at this point.

But this is where it ended up –

I painted the drawers in varying shades of blue. I took some dark antique wax and rubbed t hat all over the cream to give it a very subtle aged look. It’s much more noticeable in person than in the photos.

20160829_120136

You can just barely see the darker color in the cracks and possibly along the edges. Or else I’m just hopeful! 🙂

Voila! My renewed jewelry armoire. I still have no idea what I’m going to use it for as I already have my jewelry (which is never worn!) in lovely jewelry boxes. But I’m sure I’ll come up with some sort of idea.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

