Uncategorized

7 November 2016

My word. I’ve been away far too long. I’ve accomplished a lot since I’ve been gone (none of it crafting), but everything is still a work in progress.

If you remember, I said I was going to have a large bit of my house painted. Well, that happened. It was as chaotic as I thought it would be.  I planned on steaming my carpets after the painters were gone, but ultimately decided to simply have the carpet replaced in the living room, on the stairs, and in the upstairs hallway. This meant, of course, that I was unable to unpack any of my things that had been packed for the painting.

After ordering the carpet, back at the beginning of October, I was told it was on backorder and wouldn’t be installed until 3 November! Not at all what I was expecting. But, nothing to be done except live with the chaos until it was all done.

I’m happy to say the carpet did get installed on 3 November. However, the next day while I was unpacking and moving furniture, I discovered a number of flaws in the installation. Heavy sigh. I immediately got a notebook and took photos and notes of all the problems. I sent an email to the company and they told me someone would come out today, Monday. Great, another few days of accomplishing nothing!

Well, one of the company owners actually showed up today to inspect the work and he did all the repairs while he was here. What a relief! So progress is being made, slowly but surely. I still have yet to hang any artwork on the walls, but I’ve put all the books back on the shelves! And I managed to unplug and re-plug all the cables for the television and accessories – twice!- without messing anything up! (Although, my daughter did manage to damage one of the legs under the entertainment unit; no worries, I fixed that, too.)

So crafting has really taken a back seat lately and I miss it terribly! But I’m going to get back in here and MAKE THINGS! I have to. It keeps me sane.

If you remember the lovely blue lamp from a few posts back – I did get around to replacing his shade and repainting him. There were actually a few cracks in the lamp base that I had to patch. But I paid only a few dollars for him at a thrift store so I cannot complain too loudly!  Here he is on my kitchen island (from a previous post) in the corner of my kitchen. He looks so nice here!

20161107_191025.jpg

Even though I’ve not been actively crafting, I have been on Pinterest daily looking for inspiration and pinning like a madwoman! The cards I have made tonight came from a Pinterest inspiration. The style is very new for me but I think I like it. Tell me what you think – I love getting feedback!

Unfortunately this is all I’ve got for now. But I promise you, I’m getting back into the swing of things and there will be more to come! Watch this space!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

